Global Plasma Summit

GPS2020 logo

PPTA is excited to open registration for the Global Plasma Summit, a new worldwide virtual event scheduled for October 28-30. Bringing experts from around the world together in an exciting and innovative format, the Global Plasma Summit will provide unique opportunities to learn from – and engage with – industry leaders, patient advocates, and public officials.

The Global Plasma Summit will include multiple presentations and conversations that reflect this industry’s unique ability to respond to the current COVID-19 pandemic, while also addressing ongoing conversations regarding the imperative for plasma donation and plasma-derived therapies relied upon by people with rare diseases.

The 2020 Business Forum, open to PPTA Members only, will be held in conjunction with the GPS. Members interested in attending the Business Forum must also register for the GPS.

REGISTRATION

Registration for the 2020 GPS includes virtual access to all general sessions and networking events. Online registration will close on October 23 close of business (EDT). 

Registration type Rates
PPTA Members  $200 (GPS)
$250 (GPS + Business Forum)
Non-members $300
Patients & Government $30

All confirmed Global Plasma Summit attendees will receive their login information and Access Codes on Monday, October 26.

Terms and Conditions

Registration Type
PPTA reserves the right to confirm registration type and charge appropriately.

Cancellations & Substitutions
Cancellations will not be accepted. Substitutions must be received in writing by October 23, 2020.

Press
All Press must apply for credentials prior to the event. Please contact Mat Gulick (mgulick@pptaglobal.org) at the Association for more information.

Data Protection
The personal information provided will be used for PPTA purposes only.


AGENDA

The agenda for the Global Plasma Summit promises to include a range of live and on-demand educational presentations and sessions, as well as:

  • Insights and thought leadership from the world’s top plasma experts
  • Updates on industry efforts to address COVID-19
  • Q&A with speakers/panelists
  • Simulated face-to-face networking events
  • Presentations of the 2020 Dr. Otto Schwarz & Joachim Hilfenhaus Awards
  • Interactive Exhibit Hall with opportunities to engage with our sponsors

Download the agenda in Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) or Central European Time (CET).

2020 Virtual Global Plasma Summit Agenda
October 28 - 30, 2020
8:00 am - 12:30 pm EDT | 1:00 pm - 5:30 pm CET

  [Program and speakers are subject to change] 

Wednesday, October 28, 2020
Day One: An Introduction to Plasma & COVID-19

 
Welcome to the 2020 Global Plasma Summit
8:00 AM EDT | 1:00 PM CET
Speakers:

Amy C. Efantis, President & CEO - PPTA

Karen Etchberger, Ph.D. SVP Alliance Management for Digital Technology - CSL Behring; Chair - PPTA Global Board of Directors

Combating COVID‐19 Industry Spotlight: CoVIg‐19 Plasma Alliance
8:15 AM EDT | 1:15 PM CET
Presented by: Julie Kim, President, Plasma‐Derived Therapies Business Unit ‐ Takeda; Member ‐ PPTA Global Board of Directors
Plasma: An Overview
8:30 AM EDT | 1:30 PM CET
Session sponsored by: FK Claim 4c

Moderator:

Amy C. Efantis, President & CEO - PPTA

Speakers:

Bill Zabel, President, North America Sales & Commercial Operations - Grifols

 

Debra Bensen-Kennedy, M.D., Vice President, Medical Affairs - CSL Behring

 

Milan Novakovic, M.D., Medical Head - Takeda - Germany

Combating COVID‐19 Industry Spotlight: Emergent 
9:10 AM EDT | 2:10 PM CET
Presented by: Laura Saward, PhD, Senior Vice President, Therapeutics Business Unit Head ‐ Emergent; Member ‐ PPTA North America Board of Directors
Networking Event
9:20 AM EDT | 2:20 PM CET
   
Experts on Coronavirus: The Virus, The Disease, and Treatment Options
10:15 AM EDT | 3:15 PM CET
Session sponsored by:
Bennett Logo

Moderators:

Mary Gustafson, Vice President - Global Regulatory Policy - PPTA
Dominika Misztela, Ph.D., Senior Director - Regulatory Policy - PPTA
Speakers: Thomas Kreil, Ph.D., Vice President - Global Pathogen Safety - Takeda
  Louis Katz, M.D., Adjunct Clinical Professor of Internal Medicine/Infectious Diseases - Carver College of Medicine; Chief Medical Officer - Mississippi Valley Regional Blood Center
  Marion Gruber, Ph.D., Director - FDA Office of Vaccines Research & Review
Live Q&A at approximately 11:15 AM EDT | 16:15 CET

Combating COVID‐19 Industry Spotlight: Grifols
11:35 AM EDT | 4:35 PM CET

Presented by: David Bell, Chief Innovation Officer & General Counsel ‐ Grifols; Member ‐ PPTA Global Board of Directors

Patient Perspectives on COVID-19 and Access to Care
11:45 AM EDT | 4:45 PM CET

Session sponsored by:
Paysign Horz 4C

Moderator:

Mark Skinner, JD, President & CEO - Institute for Policy Advancement

Speakers:

John G. Boyle, President & Chief Executive Officer - The Immune Deficiency Foundation

Martine Pergent, Chair - International Patient Organisation for Primary Immunodeficiencies

Jim Crone, President - GBS|CIDP Foundation International Board of Directors

Michelle Cuevas, Senior Executive Vice President & Chief Operating Officer - US Hereditary Angioedema Association

Combating COVID‐19 Industry Spotlight: Kedrion
12:35 PM EDT | 5:35 PM CET
Presented by: Alessandro Gringeri, MD, Chief Medical and R&D Officer ‐ Kedrion

Thursday, October 29, 2020
Day Two: The Impact of COVID-19 on Plasma Operations

   

Welcome & Keynote Address
8:00 AM EDT | 1:00 PM CET

Moderator:

Maarten Van Baelen, Executive Director, Europe - PPTA

Keynote Address:

Stella Kyriakides, Commissioner - Health & Food Safety - European Commission

Presentation of the 2020 Hilfenhaus Award
8:10 AM EDT | 1:10 PM CET

Moderator:

Maarten Van Baelen, Executive Director, Europe - PPTA

Presenter: Oliver Schmitt, General Manager - CSL Behring, Italy; Chair - PPTA European Board of Directors
Spotlight on a Novel Approach to Plasma Collection
8:15 AM EDT | 1:15 PM CET
Presented by: Jan Hartmann, MD, Vice President of Medical Affairs, Clinical Development, and Medical Safety ‐ Haemonetics

Plasma Collection during a Pandemic: Case Studies in Logistics & Operational Challenges
8:30 AM EDT | 1:30 PM CET

Session sponsored by: IDF 2020

Moderator:

Sonia Balboni, Director, Source & Standards - PPTA

Speakers:

Dr. Gabriella Komlodi, Managing Director - KEDPLASMA Magyarorszag

Chuck Borders, Head of BioLife Quality - BioLife Plasma Services - Takeda

Marvin Dyke, President - BPL Plasma

Todd Elliott, Senior Warehouse Manager - RX Crossroads by McKesson

Live Q&A at approximately 9:15 AM EDT | 14:15 CET

Spotlight on The Jeffrey Modell Foundation Genetic Sequencing Program
9:45 AM EDT | 2:45 PM CET
Moderator: Amy C. Efantis, President & CEO ‐ PPTA
Presented by: Fred Modell, Founder ‐ Jeffrey Modell Foundation
 
Networking Event
10:00 AM EDT | 3:00 PM CET
   

Innovative Inspections: Regulatory Adaptations During COVID-19
11:00 AM EDT | 4:00 PM CET

Session sponsored by: 
MAK SYSTEM International Group

Moderators:

Mary Gustafson, Vice President - Global Regulatory Policy - PPTA

Dominika Misztela, Senior Director - Regulatory Policy - PPTA

Speakers:

 

 

 

Susan Turcovski, Deputy Director - Office of Biological Products Operations, Office of Regulatory Affairs
U.S. Food and Drug Administration

Richard McBride, Chief - Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research, Office of Blood Research and Review - Blood & Plasma Branch, U.S. Food and Drug Administration

Judit Fernandez Fernandez, Scientific Officer, Inspections Office at the Quality and Safety of Medicines Department - European Medicines Agency

Q&A only Kip Hanks, Biologics National Expert - Office of Biological Products Operations, Office of Regulatory Affairs, U.S. Food and Drug Administration
Live Q&A at approximately 11:45 AM EDT | 16:45 CET

 Friday, October 30, 2020
Day Three: Plasma Therapies: Current Use & Potential Treatments
   
Networking Event
7:00 AM EDT | 12:00 PM CET
 
Welcome & Keynote Address
8:00 AM EDT | 1:00 PM CET

Moderator:

Julie Birkofer, Senior Vice President - Public Affairs - PPTA

Keynote Address: Admiral Brett Giroir, M.D., Assistant Secretary for Health - U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Presentation of the 2020 Otto Schwarz Award
8:20 AM EDT | 1:20 PM CET

Moderator:

Amy C. Efantis, President & CEO - PPTA

Presented by: Karen Etchberger, Ph.D. SVP Alliance Management for Digital Technology - CSL Behring; Chair - PPTA Global Board of Directors

The Role of Plasma Protein Therapies during the COVID-19 Pandemic
8:30 AM EDT | 1:30 PM CET

Sponsored by
Haemonetics Logo RED 1

Moderators:

Larisa Cervenakova, M.D., Ph.D., Medical Director - PPTA

Sandor von Toth, Senior Manager - Government Affairs and Health Policy - PPTA

Speakers:

Jordan Orange, M.D., Ph.D., Chair of Pediatrics – Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons; Pediatrician-in-chief – NewYork-Presbyterian/Morgan Stanley Children’s Hospital

 

Mark Brantly, M.D., Vice Chair of Research Department of Medicine; Professor of Medicine, Molecular - University of Florida College of Medicine; Research Professor - Alpha-1 Foundation

 

Bettina Klug, M.D., Clinical Assessor - Division Immunology - Paul-Ehrlich-Institut

The Importance of Access to Care: European & American Perspectives
10:00 AM EDT | 3:00 PM CET

Session sponsored by:
Roche 01

Moderator:

Brian Maguire, EU Journalist / Broadcaster - EBX Media

Speakers:

Tomasz Kluszczynski, Partner - Vintura

 

Richard Manning, Ph.D., Partner - Bates White

 

George Olsen, JD, President - Williams & Jensen

Andrzej Rys, Director Responsible for Health Systems, Medical Products and Innovation, Directorate-General for Health and Food Safety - European Commission

Plasma Is Global: Contributions to an International Plasma Strategy for and After the Pandemic
11:15 AM EDT | 4:15 PM CET
Session sponsored by:
Novo Plasma

Moderator:

Peter O’Donnell, EU-accredited journalist

Speakers:

Matthew Hotchko, Ph.D., President - Marketing Research Bureau

 

Dr. Martin Reinecke, Senior Vice President - Global Plasma Alliances - Biotest

Johan Prevot, Executive Director - International Patient Organisation for Primary Immunodeficiencies

Dr. Stefaan van der Spiegel, Head of Sector - Health Innovation and Substances of Human Origin - DG SANTE, European Commission

Closing Remarks
12:35 PM EDT | 5:35 PM CET
Speaker: Maarten Van Baelen, Executive Director, Europe - PPTA
 

SPONSORSHIP & EXHIBITOR OPPORTUNITIES

Don’t miss this unique opportunity to take part in PPTA’s very first worldwide virtual event! We have some exciting opportunities to become a virtual sponsor, including networking with attendees that will be scheduled for an hour each day in your very own customizable “video booth” that allows interaction and connection with attendees.

Sponsor a Session ($1,500)

  • Commercial played before or during a session (up to 2 ½ minutes)
  • Your company logo advertised on PPTA’s website, GPS web page, e-blasts and within the GPS event site
  • 2 complimentary registrations
  • This sponsorship is a first-come first-serve basis as there is limited availability

Exhibit Booth ($3,000)

  • Custom page on GPS event site that can include:
    • Logo and company description
    • A Video up to 1 ½ minutes, provided by your company (i.e., short introduction)
    • Chat box and direct message feature for interaction with attendees
    • Receive list of attendees that visited your page (post event)
  • Your company logo advertised on PPTA’s website, GPS web page, e-blasts and within the GPS event site
  • 6 complimentary registrations
  • Custom booth with 1 hour of face-to-face networking scheduled each day (3 total)

Combo! Booth and Session Sponsorship ($4,000)

  • Same benefits as listed above
  • 10 complimentary registrations

Sessions

There are 8 sessions available. Please select your 1st, 2nd, and 3rd choice on the registration form.

 

For more information, please contact Michelle Mason at mmason@pptaglobal.org.
Deadline to register as a sponsor or exhibitor is September 30, 2020.

 

GPS contacts:
Registration inquiries:
Charon Smith
Sponsorship/Exhibitor inquiries:
Michelle Mason
Copyright © 2020 PPTA. All rights reserved. (202) 789-3100